4chicksplayschool

Play based learning 4 chicks 4 moms

Nativity/Advent-Day 2

on December 5, 2012

I always have big ideas and have to tone them down when I realize I’m working with 2 and 3 year olds.  Today I didn’t care that I would be doing most of the projects for them, I was going to do them.  Hal’s dad was home today and he brought home doughnuts from Kamehameha Bakery, best on the island.  We had to start with that.IMG_5833

Then we got down to business.  They wanted to add accompaniment to our opening. Tank went for the guitar.

IMG_5835

Since today’s theme was the Nativity, we started by talking about the Christmas story.  I showed them the video on lds.org.  I love these videos. The girls loved them too.  We talked a little more about it.  I wanted them to retell it.  I found this really cute Nativity printable on pinterest (where else). You can get to it here.  I printed up one for each of the chicks.  We used it to retell the story.  They did really well.  Everyone filled in what they knew.IMG_5840 IMG_5837 IMG_5855

By this time the chicks were ready for a snack and a break, so we took our snack and went for a walk around the neighborhood.IMG_5842 IMG_5844 IMG_5843

Tank kept taking off, until she saw one of these guys.IMG_5845

They’re everywhere.  After that she stayed really close.

Back to the house. I found this advent that I really wanted the chicks to have.  I love how the focus is on Mary, Joseph, and Jesus. With the help of Tank’s mom, we made our own. Not as cute as the original, but shipping to Hawai`i would have taken too long.  I made them before the chicks came and explained to them what to do.  In my house, the older kids often moved the Mary and Joseph before Hal even woke up.IMG_5851

After a quick lunch, we wrote our letters to Santa.  These were the ones from Macy’s.  For every letter dropped in their mailbox, Macy’s would donate a dollar to the make a wish foundation.

IMG_5852

2 responses to “Nativity/Advent-Day 2

  1. sharearead says:

    So glad you’re catching up. Too cutr

  2. Love it all! Can’t wait to take them for walks.

Leave a Reply

