4chicksplayschool

Play based learning 4 chicks 4 moms

Theme: Building/Tools-Day 1

on January 24, 2014

This was actually Laundry Week, but I couldnʻt think of anything to do, so we skipped ahead to our building week.  I had big plans.  I need another week to finish up.  After all hour morning routine things, we talked about who uses tools and the kinds of tools they use.  They helped sound out the letters and underlined the sounds they heard.

Image

Then we pulled out Halʻs daddyʻs tools.  They took turns picking a tool out of the bag.  They looked at it and tried to guess itʻs function.

Image

We moved to the floor with our tools.  I put out a big piece of paper and we worked on tracing the tools.  They kind of got this.  Hal was trying to sound out the words a little.

Image

After a little (Frozen) break, we brought out one of Halʻs brotherʻs toys.  I love this toy.  Itʻs an airplane that can be taken apart and put back together with the tools that came with it.  Uniqua asked me, “What material is it made out of, wood or plastic or metal.”  I was impressed.  They did really well with this and they were proud of their work when they were done.

ImageImage

After lunch, I put them to work.  We fixed the loose balusters on my stairs.  Uniqua is our soldier.  She was very focused here.

ImageImage

Image

They couldnʻt get enough.  They wanted to do more.  Luckily, there are a lot of projects around my house.  We filled the bike tires and sprayed the chains with WD40.  I had so much fun with this.  Next time weʻre going to build something for sure.

Image

Leave a Reply

