4chicksplayschool

Play based learning 4 chicks 4 moms

Kung Hee Fat Choy – Day 3

on January 29, 2014

Today is Chinese New Year or the Lunar New Year.  I love Chinese New Year.  When my kids were younger, before I became a sportsʻ taxi driver, I used to go to Chinatown for the Chinese New Year celebration.  I havenʻt gone in the last couple of years because of games and practices, so I was excited to do this lesson with the chicks.  I started by (re)teaching them to say Kung Hee Fat Choy (Happy New Year).  Then I showed them what Chinese writing looks like and they listened to the pronunciation of a few common words.  My sister Bethany showed me this fun website for learning Chinese.  Itʻs called chineasy.org.  Clever right?  The creatorʻs whole method for teaching and learning is really clever too.IMG_0524Since we were on the computer, we e-read Chinese themed books.  We read Red is a Dragon, Round is a Mooncake, and One is a Drummer.  All three by Roseanne Thong and illustrated by Grace Lin.  My intent was to read just one, but they couldnʻt get enough.
IMG_0528Our next activity was actually painting/tracing the Chinese characters for double happiness, but I only had two sets of watercolors, so Uniqua made chopsticks with me while the other two painted.  We took a pair of chopsticks and glued them to a clothespin.  I thought this was pretty genius.  Hal loves to use chopstick, but it usually results in more noodles on the table than in her mouth.  I would give you the link for the website that gave me the idea, but I canʻt find it.  Itʻs pretty easy.  Put the fat end of the chopsticks on the end of the clothespin that pinches the clothes so the chopsticks always spring open.  We used hot glue.  No drying time.

IMG_0530I printed up an image of the character for double happiness, and they practiced their Chinese calligraphy with watercolors.  Iʻve done this with this them before and I can see how much their dexterity is this time compared to the last.IMG_0532 IMG_0533 IMG_0534Chinese New Year would not be complete without Chinese food, so we went to the Chinese restaurant in our neighborhood.   The chicks greeted the restaurant owner with “Kung Hee Fat Choy.”  I thought maybe that would get them a free treat.  No chance.  My Chinese grandma would tell me that itʻs the Pake (Hawaiian for Chinese) in me for trying and the Pake in her for not giving me anything.  My 92 year old grandma can say anything she wants.  I guess she earned it.
IMG_0535We picked out noodles, crispy gau gee (similar to fried pork won ton), and rice cake for dessert.  The noodles and the gau gee were a hit.   So were their chopsticks.IMG_0536The rice cake, not so much.  Yay for me!  I love rice cake and the restaurant close to my house makes it fresh every day.  Itʻs really good.  IMG_0537 IMG_0539Kung Hee Fat Choy!!

2 responses to “Kung Hee Fat Choy – Day 3

  1. Haha. If the original lady who ran that place was still there, she would have given you guys something. A Chinese trying to out do a Chinese. I love this!

  2. sharearead says:

    Pretty ambitious! Looks like fun. Not sure I get the chopsticks. They look far apart.?

Leave a Reply

