4chicksplayschool

Play based learning 4 chicks 4 moms

Dr Suess-Day 1

on March 3, 2014

Yesterday was Dr. Suess’ birthday.  My kindergardener brought home a weekly reader thing about him which reminded me that it was his birthday March 2, so we decided to go with that theme this week.  There are a ton of ideas on Pinterest!  I started with the weekly reader, it’s got pictures and short, interesting facts about him, like his real name, and that he likes hats.  I read “There’s a Wocket in my Pocket.”  (The only Dr. Suess book I have!)  Then they drew their own creatures.  I got the idea for this from Pinterest.IMG_5339 IMG_5340 IMG_5341 IMG_5342

Then they hid their pictures and I had to find them, they usually just run to it and tell me where it is. : )   I helped them make up a rhyming word for each picture depending on where it was.IMG_5344

 

A kindow in the window. IMG_5346

A mool with the tools.IMG_5347

IMG_5348 IMG_5349 IMG_5350

A zike on the bike…One of Uniqua’s was on the table and I asked if it was a zable on the table, she said “no that’s my mom.”  Oops.

Today is Girls’ Day.  Kind of a Japanese holiday but locally, lots of people celebrate.  I had volunteered to do mochi for my kindergardener’s class.  I kept some of the end pieces home for the chicks so that’s what they got for snack time.  My daughter said her teacher told them the green is for the grass, white for snow and pink for flowers, so we had to make it tri-colored mochi.IMG_5351

Later we watched Green Eggs and Ham on YouTube.  And a couple other ones.  The kindergardeners also had green eggs and spam musubi.  So we did too!  Very appropriate since musubi is JapaneseIMG_5352 IMG_5353Hal was like Sam, only she wouldn’t eat the green eggs at the end.

 

One response to “Dr Suess-Day 1

  1. Oh my gosh I love this!!! I love all the made up words!!!

Leave a Reply

