4chicksplayschool

Play based learning 4 chicks 4 moms

Pumpkins – Day 3

on October 24, 2014

I found this cute fall basket shape for my Silhouette a while back that I really wanted to use.  I used my Silhouette to cut out pumpkins, baskets,and numbers.  While the chicks were doing their opening activity, I pulled them over one by one to glue their numbers to their pumpkins.  Then we put our pumpkins and basket on the side to let the glue dry.

IMG_2570 IMG_2571 IMG_2572

While we waited for the glue to dry,  we made pumpkin sugar cookies.  I found a tutorial here for candy pumpkins.  I followed the tutorial to get the pumpkin shapes, but opted to do cookies instead.  The chicks made the dough.  I had them color the dough by kneading in the food coloring.  I dropped the red and yellow food coloring into a ball of dough for each chick and let them knead the dough until they had orange.  They did the same to make green.

IMG_2578 IMG_2573

Then we rolled pieces of the orange dough into balls, flattened them on the plate, and used a fork to make the vertical lines on the pumpkins.  Making balls took a little practice, but they got it.  We used a chopstick to make a little indentation in the top and bottom to give the pumpkin shape.  Lastly we used added a little green stem.  They came out so cute.

IMG_2581 IMG_2583

After a little snack and a break, we went back to our numbered pumpkins.  I had the chicks put their pumpkins in numerical order.  Then I had them close their eyes, I took a way a few and had them fill in the blanks.  Way to easy for them.  Uniqua was looking at me like “Really, Aunty?”  I promise, Hal got that 5 in the right place.

IMG_2586 IMG_2587 IMG_2588

Lastly, we worked on our scissors skills and made paper pumpkins.  I drew lines on orange paper.  The chicks cut along the lines to make strips of paper.  We stacked the strips and poked a hole in the top and the bottom. Then we strung a green chenille stem through the holes and fanned out the strips to form a ball.  Voila!

IMG_2591 IMG_2594

I almost forgot.  At some point I read a couple of books that Aunty Emmie sent up for us.  They were both very cute, but I canʻt remember the name of the first one.  The second one was Tomie dePaola book, called Strega Nonaʻs Harvest.  I love Strega Nona.

Screen Shot 2014-11-01 at 10.41.35 PM

2 responses to “Pumpkins – Day 3

  1. I love the pumpkin cookies!

Leave a Reply

