4chicksplayschool

Play based learning 4 chicks 4 moms

Mexico-Day 2

on January 7, 2015

Tank didn’t have school so she joined us.  The chicks were extra excited and rowdy.  We started with “Jesus Wants Me For a Sunbeam” for our opening song.  They got carried away!

IMG_6600

 

We found Mexico on a map and talked about words that start with “M,” like Mexico and map!  Then we spelled Mexico with our arms.

IMG_6605IMG_6601

“E”IMG_6602

“X”IMG_6603

“C”IMG_6604

“O”
IMG_6606

I wanted to do a Mexican dessert something and I came across conchas in my search.  I had never had them before or even heard of them.  I looked through some recipes and found this one. It is a sweet roll with a crispy frosting on top.  YUM! They are called conchas because the frosting top looks like the ripples on a shell.IMG_6608Later we talked about the day of the dead.  I had thought it was kind of a dark holiday and was hesitant to include it.  After a little research I found that it is more of a day of remembrance, festive and happy.  I found a pretty lady with the sugar skull makeup on Pinterest, after I showed them the picture they all wanted to do makeup.  I just used a cheap eye liner pencil.  Then we made tissue paper flowers.
IMG_6611 IMG_6613Quesadillas and conchas for lunch.

One response to “Mexico-Day 2

  1. sharearead says:

    You are such the “fun” Aunty.

Leave a Reply

