4chicksplayschool

Play based learning 4 chicks 4 moms

Space-Day 1

on April 7, 2015

Fortunately my girls and Uniqua had just looked at stars with a telescope on Saturday night so that was a nice lead into our discussion.  I read them a story called “Star Climbing.”  We talked about where stars are and there was some argument about the size of a star.  It looks tiny to us but it is actually really big.  We talked about planets and I tried to teach them the planet song but I was more tone deaf then usual and couldn’t get it right.  They will have to learn it with Nanny later.  I had made a space ship out of card board so when they were over me, and my baby was over them, I sent them outside to play.  They had to take turns because all three chicks couldn’t fit at once.  I think rather than wait their turn, they decided it was more fun to slide or swing and left the space ship after about ten minutes!  Good think I took pictures in the first 5.  They did like counting down from 10 and I shook the box when they said blast off.IMG_6712 IMG_6714 IMG_6715

Later we made jet packs.  I had them wrap 2-2 liter bottles with foil.  I thought that would be faster, cleaner and more awesome than gray paint.  I found a tutorial for one here.  It’s pretty self explanatory but I wasn’t sure what was the best way to attach the straps and a piece of cardboard worked great.  I didn’t have webbing so I used strips of drop cloth fabric.  I would recommend a high temp glue gun. For the “flames” I used tissue paper and just cut strips then I opened up the foil at the bottom (bottle opening) and stuffed the ends in. IMG_6716 IMG_6718 IMG_6720

IMG_6748

I could hear them outside, “Mother, Cinderella has my jet pack!”

Last we did the phases of the moon with oreos.  I think there was more eating than learning going on though.  I got this printable here.  After I printed it I found this one which I like better because there are pictures on it but it’s not as cute and I didn’t want to print more.
IMG_6725 IMG_6730 IMG_6736 IMG_6738 IMG_6741

Hal ate off the frosting and said, “I’m saving all the nothing ones for my family. They love cookies!”IMG_6747

One response to “Space-Day 1

  1. haaaa! “nothings” for my family 🙂

Leave a Reply

