4chicksplayschool

Play based learning 4 chicks 4 moms

Art-Day 2

on April 16, 2015

I started out asking the chicks about their field trip and if they knew what we were taking about this week.  They all yelled art.  I had them share  what their favorite thing was at the museum.  They liked having a chance to talk.  Then I showed them this video about creating and talked about how when we make art we are creating something.  I googled sculpture and showed them some pictures, I should have been more prepared with that, fortunately I was able to skip some of the more provocative sculptures before they saw them!  I made  salt dough from this recipe.  I thought the white dough would make their creations  look more like sculptures.IMG_6751 IMG_6753 IMG_6754

After that we talked about mixing colors.  I showed them a short video of Bob Ross and pointed out how he mixed colors to make what he was painting.  I saw this idea on pinterest.  I only had acrylic paint so I gave them each a drop of dish soap to rub on their hand then I put about a teaspoon of paint in their hands.  After some tears, Pooh ended up with red, Uniqua had yellow, and, Kitty and Hal had blue. I had them rub their hands together and stamp their paper.  Next they had to rub hands with their neighbor and see what color they got.IMG_6755 IMG_6756 IMG_6757 IMG_6758 IMG_6759

I had to take advantage of a sleeping baby, so right after that we talked about what people paint.  I wanted to get sunflowers but there were none at the grocery store so I just got a mixed bouquet and had them use water colors to paint the flowers.IMG_6760 IMG_6761 IMG_6762

Just before lunch we talked about food art and making art with food.  They all have “You Are My Work of Art” from Nanny, and in it is a picture of “Summer” which is a painting if a mans face made of vegetables.  We talked about making food to look like a picture.  I wanted to do something elaborate but decided on something they would eat.  I found the picture here. I forgot to get pretzels this morning for the antennae but they knew it was a bee.IMG_6763 IMG_6764 IMG_6765 IMG_6766 IMG_6767

Leave a Reply

